Helpcentre / Drooms Administration / Index and Documents / Transferring Data
Transferring Data
The Data Transfer feature allows to directly copy any or all index points, files, or folders, from one Drooms data room to another, given the necessary permissions. This way it is possible to:
- Copy and move specific portfolio assets to a dedicated Drooms data room for related due diligence and transaction purposes
- Compile an insightful overview of documents for multiple assets in one place
- Rearrange and organise documents that already exist in other assets
- Manage and rearrange data (documents, folders, index points) across projects and data rooms in general
- Transfer the related data 1:1 avoiding errors, potential leaks and unwanted exposure as well as time and costs due to manual, time-consuming downloading and re-uploading of documents, potentially even impeded by local path restriction issues
Data can be copied to other data rooms (assets) belonging to the same project with multiple data rooms, as well as to data rooms belonging to other projects.
Data can be copied and transferred only by users, who are either administrators of the source data room, or have there at least download permission as member of a specific user group for certain content, to destination data rooms, where they have at least upload permissions for the ‘Inbox’ folder (the same as used for uploading e-mail attachments to), or are members of the administrators group.
To transfer data, proceed as follows:
- After signing in to Drooms, select the source project and data room containing the data, which you want to transfer.
- Select ‘Documents’ in the project’s and data room’s tab bar to access the data room index, select the index items or folder(s) with the data you want to transfer, and with a right click open the index context menu.
Selecting a folder and its sub-items will result in an error. Please only select the folder itself, and/or other folders or documents on the same level, but not any sub-items at the same time. They will be automatically included in the data transfer.
- Select the option ‘Copy to Data Room’ to open the pop-up dialog ‘Sending a copy of selected item(s) to another data room’.
If the context menu should not offer this option, please contact our Customer Success team and inquire, if the Data Transfer tool can be enabled for your project. Apart from data transfers having been enabled for a project as such you will be able to copy only documents, for which your user group has at least download permissions, and transfer them only to projects, for whose email inbox you have at least ‘Create only’ permission for, or higher, or are member of the projects’ administrator groups.
- In the first step, select the destination data room. The drop-down menu will list all potential destination data rooms you have edit permissions in.
- In case you are an administrator of the destination data room, you will be asked to select the destination folder therein, to which the copied data should be transferred too, either the Root folder itself, or any of its sub-folders. If you are not an administrator, but have at least permissions to upload files to the email inbox folder of the selected detination data room, then this will be the default destination folder for data transfers.
- Then select the type of data to be copied:
- Option ‘Everything (Index points, folders & files)’: All selected index items will be copied to the destination data room
- Option ‘Empty folders & Index points only’: Only the selected folders and index points will be copied to the destination data room, attached files will not be copied
- Option ‘Empty folders only’: All selected folders and sub-folders will be copied to the destination data room, document index points and the attached files will not be copied
- Finally, as administrator of the selected destination data room, you must select at ‘Select permissions’, whether the transferred data should be accessible only for administrators to start with, or if they should inherit the permissions of the destination folder. If you are not an administrator, the transferred data will inherit the permissions of the email inbox folder by default.
- Click on ‘Next’. In the second step, your data transfer request will be checked. There are several potential reasons, why a data transfer may not be possible, though, and which will be stated respectively:
- Some change occurred with respect to the selected item(s) just shortly after your selection (some index point may have been added or removed, for example).
- You initiated another data transfer before, which still is being processed. It is only possible to have one running data transfer at a time, so please try again later.
- The destination data room may have a set and fixed storage limit, which your intended data transfer would exceed.
- The selected item(s) for the data transfer have a file & folder structure with more than 19 levels. For technical reasons, structures with more levels cannot be transferred.
- Data cannot be copied to frozen or online-archived data rooms.
- If everything is fine, the dialog will show the selected destination data room, the selected type of data to be copied, where the selected item(s) will be copied to therein, and additional information about numbers of selected items and overall data amount.
- Please confirm that you understand our billing notice.
The copied documents are billed in the destination data room with the same terms of billing that apply to uploading documents in that data room.
- Click on ‘Send copy’ and your newly copied data will be added in a new folder in the selected destination folder, if applicable, or the email inbox folder of the destination data room.
The original files will be kept in the source data room. Please delete them, if they are not needed there anymore, and you are permitted to do so in order to not least of all avoid getting billed for the same data in several data rooms.